VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

satnipper
Posts: 772
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 12:58
Location: Western Europe

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by satnipper » 18 Apr 2017 14:09

That won't work as you need 192k for RDS decoding.

User avatar
Patrick73
Posts: 164
Joined: 22 Mar 2015 12:36
Location: french Alps, JN35am

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by Patrick73 » 18 Apr 2017 14:19

This is what I was afraid of :-(
Patrick
Main interests : NDB, MW & FM DX'ing
REU Editor http://www.classaxe.com/dx/ndb/reu

MikeF
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 May 2016 07:24

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by MikeF » 18 Apr 2017 15:01

Patrick,
I recently started using VB Cable, replacing VAC, thanks to a tip off from Paul in Newhaven. It is working much better with my Airspy in SDR Sharp.
You need to download Audio ASIO Bridge from http://vb-audio.pagesperso-orange.fr/Ca ... ASIOBridge and set it up from there.

Hope that helps

Mike Fallon
Mike Fallon
Saltdean
East Sussex
UK
N50°48' W0°1'
IO90XT

North Africa FM Database: http://www.ukdx.org.uk/fm/fm_index.htm

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCclhK0 ... TuogKGBIgg

User avatar
Patrick73
Posts: 164
Joined: 22 Mar 2015 12:36
Location: french Alps, JN35am

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by Patrick73 » 22 Apr 2017 09:01

Mike,

Thanks !
I just downloaded this ASIO Bridge and will give it a try later on.
Patrick
Main interests : NDB, MW & FM DX'ing
REU Editor http://www.classaxe.com/dx/ndb/reu

AndyP (Telford)
Posts: 89
Joined: 07 Oct 2014 07:36

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by AndyP (Telford) » 22 Apr 2017 16:21

Hi Patrick

Have you tried these instructions?

http://www.apritch.co.uk/radioprop_hdsdr_rdsspy.htm

Andy.

User avatar
Patrick73
Posts: 164
Joined: 22 Mar 2015 12:36
Location: french Alps, JN35am

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by Patrick73 » 10 May 2017 16:10

Mike,

As suggested, I installed Audio ASIO Bridge but I still can"t get RDSSpy to work.

Here are my current parameters :
Default Audio devices for playback : HiFi Cable Input (16 bits, 192000) and for recording : HiFi Cable Output (channel 1,16 bits, 192000)
In SDR# , audio : Input MME soundmapper (greyed), Output : Windows Direct Sound (Realtek audio), MPX Output ???? (what to select ?)
In RDSSpy, RDS Source : ???? (what to select ?)

Thanks for your precious support
Patrick
Main interests : NDB, MW & FM DX'ing
REU Editor http://www.classaxe.com/dx/ndb/reu

satnipper
Posts: 772
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 12:58
Location: Western Europe

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by satnipper » 10 May 2017 17:16

As you have an Elad you're just unnecessarily complicating it by using SDR#.

In Elad Audio tab you tick VRX1 Enable Aux Out. Output Device is the VAC line. Mode is WBFM Mux.

In RDSSPY set source to Soundcard and select the VAC Line you set as Output device in Elad set-up.

Stuart

User avatar
Patrick73
Posts: 164
Joined: 22 Mar 2015 12:36
Location: french Alps, JN35am

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by Patrick73 » 10 May 2017 17:29

Hi Stuart,

I simply find SDR# best suited for FM DX (and for VHF generally speaking). Just a matter of taste. BTW, the problem was not SDR# but VAC.
Well, I finally managed to make SDR# (and ELAD SW2) work with RDSSpy.
Now playing with the MPX output level to optimize decoding.
Patrick
Main interests : NDB, MW & FM DX'ing
REU Editor http://www.classaxe.com/dx/ndb/reu

satnipper
Posts: 772
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 12:58
Location: Western Europe

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by satnipper » 10 May 2017 17:32

Well that's good news that it is working.

You must be using an old version of SDR# - I thought it only supported Airspy and RTL dongles now.

User avatar
Patrick73
Posts: 164
Joined: 22 Mar 2015 12:36
Location: french Alps, JN35am

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by Patrick73 » 10 May 2017 17:44

It's true for live sessions, but when playing files back, it seems the latest releases are OK (I'm running 1466).
Patrick
Main interests : NDB, MW & FM DX'ing
REU Editor http://www.classaxe.com/dx/ndb/reu

Jim (Bournemouth)
Posts: 291
Joined: 18 Sep 2014 05:59
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset IO90BR
Contact:

Re: VAC / RDSspy issue running W10 ...

Post by Jim (Bournemouth) » 11 May 2017 14:06

You can select VB cable, but unless it will allow you to select 192000 (I don't think it does....) it wont work with RDS Spy.
Jim, Bournemouth, Dorset. IO90BR.

Elad FDM-S2, Perseus/FM+ and Funcube Dongle SDR Recievers 8-element OP-DES for Band 2, 12-ele ZL Special for 2m, plus wideband vertical
.

Image

Post Reply

Return to “VHF Band 2, OIRT & DAB”