Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post Reply
satnipper
Posts: 772
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 12:58
Location: Western Europe

Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by satnipper » 03 May 2016 08:03

http://fmdx.pl/2016/05/xdr-gtk-v1-0/

Working fb here.

Stuart

User avatar
John Faulkner, Skegness
Posts: 4216
Joined: 19 Sep 2014 15:55
Location: Skegness, Lincolnshire. JO03dd
Contact:

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by John Faulkner, Skegness » 03 May 2016 17:46

Done the update and updated my antenna alignment settings.

Not sure but v1.0 seems to be slightly more sensitive than the previous version.

daveB
Posts: 1004
Joined: 07 Oct 2014 16:49

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by daveB » 04 May 2016 08:48

Shame I don't have a Sony XDR! BUT - there is a very interesting reference in the web-site that takes to you to 'modified tuners' and buried in the text is a link to a 4 way antenna switch with something like 60dB isolation between ports. It is complete with construction details - unfortunately it is in Czech - but Google translate does a reasonable job. I wonder if it would be possible to get hold of a pcb board?


David
SDRPlay, AirSpyMini, RTL dongles, SB920s, Yamaha TX930. 5 ele compact yagi on rotator at 18ft agl. FM5 facing east, FM5 facing south, FM3 facing NE, OIRT dipole, 3-ele Moxon vertical facing east.

dxradiofan
Posts: 96
Joined: 10 Mar 2015 22:39

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by dxradiofan » 14 May 2016 01:02

Tried to upload the new i2c fw but now GTK just hangs, any ideas anyone please ?

satnipper
Posts: 772
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 12:58
Location: Western Europe

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by satnipper » 14 May 2016 15:26

The XDR has to be switched on first remember.

You say "you tried to upload" - did you?

User avatar
John Faulkner, Skegness
Posts: 4216
Joined: 19 Sep 2014 15:55
Location: Skegness, Lincolnshire. JO03dd
Contact:

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by John Faulkner, Skegness » 19 May 2016 15:50

My computer has just had five days of painstaking software installation. It would have gone much more smoothly had Windows installed the correct chipset drivers to begin with. Even SnappyDriver got this wrong.

It's been a while since I have had to install some of my radio software from scratch, so I decided to keep notes of everything I did so I would have a detailed record to check against in the future.

My notes might not be perfect, or even not written in a logical sequence, but this is how I installed the i2c sketch file and the XDR-GTK software/driver. I hope it throws some light on things for you Dave.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Create a new folder for files: In my own case, I created a directory called: Sony XDR-F1HD.

2. Add the following folders to the new folder:
arduino-1.6.1
xdr-gtk-1.0 (Get the "Compiled Binaries" download)
xdr-i2c-latest

Links for these are available at:
http://fmdx.pl/xdr-gtk/

3. Connect USB cable (from Arduino board).

4. Go to Device Manager:
You should see there is an exclamation mark against a new driver, labelled "FT232R UART". Update this. In my case, the driver can be found in xdr-gtk-1.0/drivers

Note COM port after installation. In my case it was COM3.

5. Run: arduino-1.6.1-windows.exe to install.
Configure as follows:
Tools > Board: Set to "Arduino Duemilanove or Diecimila, ATMega328.
Tools > Port: Set to COM3.

6. Double click on align.ino "sketch" file in xdr-i2c-latest/xdr_i2c, which will open in the Arduino software.
Click the tick (top left) to verify the file. If correct, then click the "arrow right" button to the right of the tick. This will upload the file to the Arduino EEPROM.

7. Run XDR-GTK software: xdr-gtk-1.0/xdr-gtk.exe

// Note: If you have created your own align.ino file, back up the existing one (xdr-i2c-latest/xdr_i2c/align.ino) and upload.

Here is the code from of my own personal align.ino file in which the DAA values have been chosen for optimum reception on my own setup. They may not be entirely compatible with your setup, but they it should provide a good MHz by MHz starting point for you to enter your own values.

Code: Select all

void align(uint32_t freq)
{
    // alignment of the antenna circuit
    // these values are individual for each tuner!

    if(freq>=108000)
        DAA = 56;
    else if(freq>=107000)
        DAA = 56;
    else if(freq>=106000)
        DAA = 56;
    else if(freq>=105000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=104000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=103000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=102000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=101000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=100000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=99000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=98000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=97000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=96000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=95000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=94000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=93000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=92000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=91000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=90000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=89000)
        DAA = 62;
    else if(freq>=88000)
        DAA = 63;
    else if(freq>=87000)
        DAA = 64;
    else if(freq>=74500)
        DAA = 70;
    else if(freq>=74000)
        DAA = 68;
    else if(freq>=73500)
        DAA = 70;
    else if(freq>=73000)
        DAA = 74;
    else if(freq>=72500)
        DAA = 72;
    else if(freq>=72000)
        DAA = 68;
    else if(freq>=71500)
        DAA = 70;
    else if(freq>=71000)
        DAA = 74;
    else if(freq>=70500)
        DAA = 72;
    else if(freq>=70000)
        DAA = 76;
    else if(freq>=69500)
        DAA = 75;
    else if(freq>=69000)
        DAA = 74;
    else if(freq>=68500)
        DAA = 73;
    else if(freq>=68000)
        DAA = 74;
    else if(freq>=67500)
        DAA = 72;
    else if(freq>=67000)
        DAA = 70;
    else if(freq>=66500)
        DAA = 70;
    else if(freq>=65000)
        DAA = 70;
    else
        DAA = 64;
}

You can check your own optimum antenna alignment settings in the GTK software via the "Settings" menu: Click "Antenna" then select top checkbox for "Show antenna input alignment", then "Save". Adjust the slider, located just above the "CCI?"/"ACI?" indicators. Make a note of the number to the right of the slider when you have peaked the signal level on your chosen frequency.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Elad FDM-S2 was reasonably straight-forward to install again and set up. There were a few problems, but not as many as I had when installing/setting up Perseus. My final task is to install VAC/RDS Spy for the FDM-S2 - something I have never successfully completed. My local techie friend managed this a while ago but wasn't sure what he'd done to achieve this. I won't be able to enlist his help for a while so I will post a separate thread about this.

Good luck Dave!

dxradiofan
Posts: 96
Joined: 10 Mar 2015 22:39

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by dxradiofan » 19 May 2016 23:41

satnipper wrote:The XDR has to be switched on first remember.

You say "you tried to upload" - did you?
Yes I meant I did upload but without success :(

Anyway it still hangs, though after a few secs the light dims on the XDR even so as I said GTK is not loading properly

satnipper
Posts: 772
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 12:58
Location: Western Europe

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by satnipper » 20 May 2016 11:48

It sounds like you have not installed the new firmware. Are you sure you have configured Arduino correctly?

Follow JF's instructions - in particular

Configure as follows:
Tools > Board: Set to "Arduino Duemilanove or Diecimila, ATMega328.
Tools > Port: Set to COM3. - obviously here whatever your serial port is.

And when you say GTK is not "loading correctly" you mean that you launch the program and when you try and connect to the XDR you get a timeout error?


Stuart

dxradiofan
Posts: 96
Joined: 10 Mar 2015 22:39

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by dxradiofan » 20 May 2016 12:02

satnipper wrote:It sounds like you have not installed the new firmware. Are you sure you have configured Arduino correctly?

Follow JF's instructions - in particular

Configure as follows:
Tools > Board: Set to "Arduino Duemilanove or Diecimila, ATMega328.
Tools > Port: Set to COM3. - obviously here whatever your serial port is.

And when you say GTK is not "loading correctly" you mean that you launch the program and when you try and connect to the XDR you get a timeout error?


Stuart
Yes I have done what you describe of course, GTK will start but then just keeps saying 'waiting for tuner' It works fine with manual switch on, just not turning on via the program though after 5 seconds or whatever I set #define SLEEP_TIME 60 to the display on the XDR will dim, usually at this point GTK will run

satnipper
Posts: 772
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 12:58
Location: Western Europe

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by satnipper » 20 May 2016 12:52

Unless you have done a secondary mod with an IR diode then GTK will not turn on the tuner. You have to turn on the tuner manually, wait a couple of minutes and then launch GTK.

Stuart

User avatar
John Faulkner, Skegness
Posts: 4216
Joined: 19 Sep 2014 15:55
Location: Skegness, Lincolnshire. JO03dd
Contact:

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by John Faulkner, Skegness » 20 May 2016 13:15

I didn't do the diode mod.

Just to back up the above - make sure your XDR has been powered up before running the GTK software. This needs to be done for at least 20 seconds here before the GTK software will 'see' the XDR. I don't know why there is a delay but that delay is longer when the room temperature is colder.

Here, the radio is turned on and "530kHz" is displayed. It doesn't matter what band you select. Just leave it on for a full minute to be sure if you like.

Bring back valve radios. They were quicker to start up!

satnipper
Posts: 772
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 12:58
Location: Western Europe

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by satnipper » 20 May 2016 13:53

JF is 100% correct - seems as though the chip is warming up. Bizarre but that's the way it is.

Stuart

dxradiofan
Posts: 96
Joined: 10 Mar 2015 22:39

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by dxradiofan » 20 May 2016 15:15

No its never been a problem with me until now ...never have to wait for the XDR to warm up etc...It has always auto turned on when launching GTK...

I didn't do the mod myself btw. ..just have to wait to hear from the guy who did it to return from holiday I guess

mnicolau
Posts: 15
Joined: 08 Jan 2016 01:58

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by mnicolau » 26 Jan 2017 15:40

Hi,
My Sony needs 20 minutes before running the GTK software. And yesterday was very cool and GTK sofware didn't work.
Where is the problem?
I have a BS170 transistor.
Is better a 2N7000 transistor?

I thought was the Seeeduino 4.2 problem and I have bought a original (genuine) Arduino UNO but now I have read these messages.
I think to wait 20 minutes is a long time and worse when it doesn't work when is very cold.

User avatar
John Faulkner, Skegness
Posts: 4216
Joined: 19 Sep 2014 15:55
Location: Skegness, Lincolnshire. JO03dd
Contact:

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by John Faulkner, Skegness » 26 Jan 2017 17:25

I had the same problem. Something in the circuitry likes to be warm before it comes on. The usual time was about 15 - 20 seconds. Once when going out mobile in a cold car I had to wait about 20 minutes too.

The modification on longer works. I don't know why. Maybe a wire has come off somewhere. It's something I keep meaning to investigate.

mnicolau
Posts: 15
Joined: 08 Jan 2016 01:58

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by mnicolau » 26 Jan 2017 18:58

What happen if I don't change anything in align.ino?
Changes it any sensibility?

User avatar
John Faulkner, Skegness
Posts: 4216
Joined: 19 Sep 2014 15:55
Location: Skegness, Lincolnshire. JO03dd
Contact:

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by John Faulkner, Skegness » 26 Jan 2017 19:03

It should be fine, but you could be losing out on a small boost in signal strength if you don't. It doesn't make a huge amount of difference, but it's worth it.

mnicolau
Posts: 15
Joined: 08 Jan 2016 01:58

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by mnicolau » 06 Mar 2017 20:40

Hello!

When wires are connected and Seeeduino is powered off, XDR-F1HD will not power up because the I²C bus is blocked (WAIT message will only flash on the screen). If you want to use XDR-F1HD without computer after this modification, connect 5.2 or 10.5V to the Seeeduino DC jack.

Can XDR-F1HD work without computer if it has a double switch : One switch between analog pin 4 and JW12 and the second switch between analog pin 5 and JW13?


Or

Can I take 5.2 V or 10. V from the power supply for the Arduino? With a switch ON for without computer and switch OFF for XDR-GTK. But ... what happen if I forget the switch in position ON and it runs XDR-GTK software? Damage?

Thank you!

Miquel

User avatar
manueljbaeza
Posts: 21
Joined: 08 Oct 2014 22:27
Location: Baeza, Spain
Contact:

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by manueljbaeza » 26 Mar 2017 18:08

Hi,

I have a sony xdr and I am thinking of doing the modification.I have read several articles on this, including the instructions of FMDX.pl but I have some questions yet...

In order to listen radio for RCA, without connecting the radio to the PC via USB, would it have to give a voltage of 5.2 to the seeeduino-minijack? Would it be dangerous to give 5.2 voltage to the seeduino jack continuously?

Another question: I will change the source of 125v for a 12v. Does the new source have to deliver 10.5 volts and 5.2 exactly? Could not it be 10 and 5?
Home: RTL 2832u dongle EzTV665 + 4 elements 6.5 dB gain ant.
Mobile: Sony Mex-bt3900U
Portable: Tecsun PL360, Sangean ATS 909X, RTL2832u dongle EzTV665 + telephone

mnicolau
Posts: 15
Joined: 08 Jan 2016 01:58

Re: Sony XDR Konrad Mod - new version

Post by mnicolau » 09 Nov 2017 14:00

Hello!

My Sony XDR-F1HD is broken.

XDR-F1HD’s display is always dimmed.

One year ago had the same problem and was a broken n-mosfet transistor
BS170.

I've removed all the XDR-I2C modification and XDR-F1HD's display is dimmed.

There is anything in the display (Time or "wait")

Do you have any idea where is the problem?


Thank you


Miquel

Post Reply

Return to “VHF Band 2, OIRT & DAB”